Invisible Monsters and Attacking (2E)

dmw71
POWAH!
POWAH!

Invisible Monsters and Attacking (2E)

#1 Post by dmw71 »

Question for more experienced players and DMs:

In 2E, if a monster that can become invisible at-will attacks, does it become visible?

My group is currently battling an imp, which wisely used is at will ability to turn itself invisible. It attacked, and I was asked if this (the attack) caused it to become visible.

I don't have any experience with invisibility, but did a bit of research this morning, which I detailed here:
viewtopic.php?p=170416#p170416
Storm11 wrote:Did the imp break its invisibility when it attacked Festus again?
The fact that this question was asked makes me think I missed something, or don't understand something, which is entirely possible (if not likely) since I have zero prior experience when it comes to invisibility. After doing a bit of research this morning, I'm leaning towards no, that the imp does not reveal itself.

Let's talk about it, though. Feel free to share your interpretations and thoughts.

Here is what I am basing my initial ruling on:
Dungeon Master Guide > Chapter 13 > Vision and Light > Invisibility > Detecting Invisible Creatures

Detecting Invisible Creatures
Invisible creatures and things are not detectable by normal sight or by infravision. They do not create any significant distortion or haze pattern that can be noted. However, invisible creatures aren't completely undetectable. First, things still cling to them. Flour thrown into the air is useful for this purpose, although it can be easily covered, washed off, or brushed away. Second, they do not leave invisible footprints. Again, flour on the floor is a good way to spot the movement of invisible creatures.