dmw71 wrote:[ Technically, you've declared three actions here:
Dash
Intimidation
Melee attack
In this more fluid situation, I'm fine to allow some liberties be taken; basically, whatever works in the sense of the narrative while I'm coalescing all the submitted actions for the next update.
I can't guarantee all three attempts will actually be made, but maybe?
That's ok... I was attempting the intimidate action, then, if we are going round-by-round, even at the cost of the attack (not unrolling the intimidate check, which I did first).
I am hoping to get a second roll (advantage) from either the overall situation (barreling wagon and flame blasts) or an explicit "aid" action though...
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:58 pm
by dmw71
drpete wrote:That's ok... I was attempting the intimidate action, then, if we are going round-by-round, even at the cost of the attack (not unrolling the intimidate check, which I did first).
I am hoping to get a second roll (advantage) from either the overall situation (barreling wagon and flame blasts) or an explicit "aid" action though...
Don't worry. During this phase, when you're in a heightened status without actually being in a direct encounter, a lot can happen.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:20 pm
by Monsieur Rose
So if I want to try and bash a kobold from the horse as I ride by, is that just a regular attack? The section on mounted combat is thin.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:37 pm
by dmw71
Monsieur Rose wrote:So if I want to try and bash a kobold from the horse as I ride by, is that just a regular attack? The section on mounted combat is thin.
I have some thoughts, but I will post my official response soonish.
I just started watching the 'Sage Advice' video from about a year ago on mounted combat to see if there's something definitive.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:24 pm
by dmw71
dmw71 wrote:I just started watching the 'Sage Advice' video from about a year ago on mounted combat to see if there's something definitive.
I still have about 10-minutes to go, but I'm just going to say that you, as a rider, can take a normal action, without penalty.
Some important segments:
@19:22
"You're now acting as a unit... It gets a move, and its action options are limited: dash, disengage, dodge... It is fully dedicated to being a mount; moving you around."
@20:36
"It is focused entirely... at this point at moving you around, and doing so safely."
@20:55
"And, the beauty of it acting on your turn... your movement is still free to use on your own turn, and all your actions are still available."
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:34 pm
by dmw71
Note: Added a 'Mounted Combat' entry to the 'House Rules and Rule Clarifications' topic.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 5:59 am
by dmw71
Some notes as I work through the latest actions for my next update:
Not that it matters with this attack, but Rumble should do additional rage damage while ragin (and extra +2 at 1st level).
Monsieur Rose wrote:To be clear: Rumble is raging as he starts combat. He attacks the orange kobold as he rides past. He stops Daisy 30 feet past the group, then uses his own movement to run back to the fight. I think that's allowed. Maybe.
Yes, the movement is allowed:
Daisy will have her own movement (40-feet).
Rumble will also get own movement (30-feet)
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:57 am
by dmw71
ravenn4544 wrote:OOC: does the keep have a roof that we can tall or just walled?
There is no way to tell from your current position.
You do see guards atop the keep battling the dragon with a ballista, but can't tell if they're moving freely across the surface of a roof or their movement is limited to just walkways on top of the walls.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:04 pm
by dmw71
Monsieur Rose wrote:
I think it's only d8+4. His normal damage is +2 from his str, the rage adds another +2
My bad. You're absolutely right.
Thanks for the correction.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:20 pm
by dmw71
Gerrin wrote:OOC :Just a note that my AC is 16. My character sheet doesn't seem to tally the mage armor spell to my AC.
Noted.
I don't really use the D&D Beyond character sheet to track details on any of my characters like that, so I failed my Insight check, but that does seem odd.
I do have your Mage Armor tracked in the 'Spells in Effect' section of my footer information, so we're good.
Thinking I might have used the incorrect AC in the attacks made against Tannaris last round, I just now realized that I never actually made any of those attack rolls to begin with. I might need to retroactively make those.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:32 pm
by dmw71
dmw71 wrote:Thinking I might have used the incorrect AC in the attacks made against Tannaris last round, I just now realized that I never actually made any of those attack rolls to begin with. I might need to retroactively make those.
Sorry! The last action post was edited to include these.
It sucks, but, hey, your Mage Armor did save you against one of the attacks.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 4:59 am
by drpete
Just want to check on my weapon switching options...
If I want to switch rapier to 2 daggers in 1 round, it's this a simple weapon switch, or more than that?
Can I fight with rapier + dagger (with no explicit mechanical benefit) to facilitate a simple weapon switch (rapier for the other dagger) and/or a dagger toss?
Can I move an off hand dagger between my hand and belt as a free action, to stage a weapon switch in an earlier round?
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2019 5:35 am
by dmw71
drpete wrote:Just want to check on my weapon switching options...
If I want to switch rapier to 2 daggers in 1 round, it's this a simple weapon switch, or more than that?
Can I fight with rapier + dagger (with no explicit mechanical benefit) to facilitate a simple weapon switch (rapier for the other dagger) and/or a dagger toss?
Can I move an off hand dagger between my hand and belt as a free action, to stage a weapon switch in an earlier round?
That is a lot to consider. I don't want to punish players for doing something relatively simple, but also don't want to allow for too much leeway.
I'm going to avoid making a definitive ruling right now, but instead will just begin by being more generous, but reserve the right to tighten things a bit if I feel too much is being attempted.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:00 am
by dmw71
Gerrin wrote:Tannaris Vethykos
Tannaris, feeling the healing magic course through him, steps back from the Kobolds.
He sheathes a blade and casts magic missile at the nearest kobold.
I didn't/couldn't quite play this one out as written. Tannaris acts first in the round, so any healing he would have received would come after he would have had to act. He also can't "step back" (e.g. Disengage) and "cast magic missile" (e.g. Cast a Spell) o n the same turn as he only has a single action.
(Note: He wouldn't need to formally disengage, and could literally just move away from the kobolds, but doing so would have prompted opportunity attacks from each of the kobolds, which I'm sure he wouldn't want to do. Alternatively, Tannaris could have formally used his action on defense (e.g. Dodge), but that still would have prompted attacks if the kobolds did decide to stick around; just at disadvantage (so disengaging was the safer option).
I'm not at all singling the above post out as a criticism, merely using it as an illustration of timing, and a few combat actions (e.g. disengage, dodge) that might get overlooked.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 4:34 pm
by Gerrin
My bad, my lack of 5th ed - ness showing up.
I must admit I wondered about this after posting it.
So looking at the ruling, disengage lets me move up to 30 feet away and then I wait for the next round for the action "i.e the casting of magic missile".
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 5:09 pm
by dmw71
Gerrin wrote:My bad, my lack of 5th ed - ness showing up.
I must admit I wondered about this after posting it.
So looking at the ruling, disengage lets me move up to 30 feet away and then I wait for the next round for the action "i.e the casting of magic missile".
No worries, man. This is simplified for purposes of illustration, but hopefully this helps:
Every turn your character can:
Move up to their movement speed (e.g. 30-feet)
Take one action (e.g. attack, cast a spell, etc...)
"When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. "
Tannaris wants to break away from combat. He has one movement, and one action.
He will use his movement to actually move away, up to his maximum speed.
With his action, he can do one of what's available:
Attack
Cast a Spell
Disengage
Etc...
But he can only do one.
Since his goal was to break away without risk of retaliation, he needed to use the Disengage action to accomplish this (which means he couldn't also attack or cast a spell, etc...).
Hopefully that helps.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Mon Mar 04, 2019 6:10 pm
by Gerrin
Yep, helped a lot. Much appreciated
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:19 am
by dmw71
I haven't even checked to see if all the actions are in, but there probably won't be an update from me tonight.
I'm struggling to come up with the character for my next live game this Thursday, and I'm dedicating tonight to that purpose. Hopefully inspiration will strike me soon.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:24 am
by dmw71
I had a crazy end of week and weekend, but I am going to try to get all three of my games moving again tonight.
We'll see.
Re: Group 1: OOC I
Posted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 4:45 am
by dmw71
Ahlmzhad wrote:I had offered assistance to Rumble in getting the horse off the path so if that works he should have advantage on that roll.
You're right (and I'll admit that I did miss this), but it turned out that he didn't need advantage:
dmw71 wrote:Rumble allows himself to listen to the consult of his trailing companions and shifts off the trail, which dips south before turning towards the keep, and urges Daisy to cut straight across the castle town, taking a direct route. The mare responds to the barbarian's directive without hesitation.