Interest check - 5e Basic Rules only

I can promise terror, glory, and riches...or a quick and brutal death.
sulldawga
Rider of Rohan
Rider of Rohan

Interest check - 5e Basic Rules only

#1 Post by sulldawga »

It's probably the wrong time to start a 5e game, since the new version of D&D is coming soon, but I'm interested in trying it nonetheless. Fair warning: I have very little DM experience with 5e and I don't have a ton of experience as a player either. But I've both run and played in ACKS, OSE, and WWN games on this site. I've run games on rpg.net, RPG Crossing, and ODD74 as well. This is an interest check only; I'm probably a few weeks away from getting anything started.

I am limiting things to the Basic Rules only because A. I want to attract folks who have interest in 5e but no interest in spending money on 5e and B. I am trying to find ways to simplify the game for me as a DM and so fewer options are better for me as a beginner. I am also attracted to the digital capabilities of D&D Beyond (again, zero expectation of any players having to spend money on digital tools). This means, if you ask me to bend the rules and let you add this one thing that's not in the Basic Rules, the answer will be a flat "no".

However, if the game get some momentum for a few months and the players are into it and someone says, "Gee, Sully, can we revisit my idea about that optional archetype?", my answer is going to be, "you know, your PC did hear a rumor about a witch in the woods east of the logging camp who trains people in that archetype... for a favor in return." I'm a sucker for worldbuilding.

Other aspects of the game that may guide your decision to join the game or not:
  • PCs will start at 5th level. I will further restrict PC race options to Human, Elf, Half-elf, Dwarf, and Halfling.