Starting a D&D club after school.

Jernau35
Rider of Rohan
Rider of Rohan

Starting a D&D club after school.

#1 Post by Jernau35 »

Hi everyone!

The school where I teach has put out a call for more teachers to run clubs. There was a D&D club last year but the teacher transferred. I'm considering volunteering but a little reticent because:

1. I've never done anything like this before, I'm generally an introvert and it's only my second year at the school.

2. It's 5e. I've played for a few years but haven't DMd since 1e back in the day. (I ran a bit of Lost Mine of Phandelver with my kids. Didn't go well. Kids gradually lost interest, I stumbled with the material.)

3. I'm not sure what to run with the group. How do I pick an adventure that they've never done, when I haven't met them. Poll them in Session 0?

4. I think I can do it, despite these problems. I love DMing and I've picked up a lot of tricks over the years. The kids will obviously want to play and having been a teacher for years I know not to show fear :D

5. Coincidentally, I have an old 1e adventure from White Dwarf (The Sunfire's Heart) that I'm planning to run for my tabletop group. I'm halfway through converting it to 5e. I was thinking this is a guarantee of fresh material. (Also, I've been waiting to run it for nearly 40 years. No chance I'll forget stuff or mess up the plot). It just comes with the problem of actually balancing it for 5e.

So, can anybody offer advice or point me in direction of useful materials? I'd really appreciate it.

I just came down with COVID today, so I apologize for the rambling tone. There's definitely details I haven't mentioned, my brain is just a bit foggy.

Thanks!
Chance of being Suprised: 33%

dmw71
POWAH!
POWAH!

Re: Starting a D&D club after school.

#2 Post by dmw71 »

Jernau35 wrote: Wed Sep 14, 2022 2:18 am I'm considering volunteering...
I definitely encourage you to go for it!